Banks & Financial
Institutions of Bangladesh

Bangladesh Bank: (The Central Bank)

Bangladesh Bank:

Bangladesh Bank, the central bank and apex regulatory body for the country’s monetary and financial system, was established in Dhaka as a body corporate vide the Bangladesh Bank Order, 1972 (P.O. No. 127 of 1972) with effect from 16th December, 1971.

At present it has ten offices located at:

  • At Dhaka- (2 offices) Main office at Motijheel, another at Sadarghat. Other offices at Chittagong, Khulna, Bogra, Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barisal, Rangpur & Mymensingh
  • As on March 31, 2015: Total manpower stood at 5807 Numbers and out of which officials: 3981 numbers and subordinate staff: 1826 numbers

Functions of the Bank:

BB performs all the core functions of a typical monetary and financial sector regulator, and a number and other non core functions. The major functional areas include:

  • Formulation and implementation of monetary and credit policies.
  • Regulation and supervision of banks and non-bank financial institutions, promotion and development of domestic financial markets.
  • Managemant of the country’s international reserves.
  • Issuance of currency notes.
  • Regulation and supervision of the payment system.
  • Acting as banker to the government.
  • Money Laundering Prevention.
  • Collection and furnishing of credit information.
  • Implementation of the foreign exchange regulation Act.
  • Managing a Deposit Insurance Scheme.